Just Breathe

medium_9139658672

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Have you ever felt down? Of course you have. It’s part of the human condition.

How do you get yourself out of that funk? Do you listen to music, read a book, talk to a friend? Do you handle it well? Do you drink yourself into oblivion to escape?

I get sad at around the same time each month (hint). I don’t handle it well. I don’t deal with stress, anxiety or sadness well at all. And you know what sucks? I have to go through this every month. So does my boyfriend. I really try to just get over it and see past the week or so of sadness. I know I’ll be back to my happy, bubbly self once again.

I start to dwell on the things in my life that aren’t perfect. The money I still owe, the job that I don’t love, the house that I don’t own. None of that bothers me the other 3 weeks of the month. Ahhh, good ol’ hormones.

Sometimes it makes me feel better when I write things down. I don’t have a journal per say, but I do have several word documents on my computer filled with pointless ramblings of a somewhat crazy hormonal mess. This is how I cope. It’s not a perfect method (clearly), but it does give me some release. I only write when I want to, or rather when I feel I need to. I never liked having a “journal” because of the pressure to write everyday.

One thing that writing my feelings down provides me with is the ability to breathe. After I read what I wrote, I get a feeling of lightness. I feel like my chest has loosened and that I am able to take a breath. Just breathe.

See if it works for you.

Much love to everyone. Just remember you are not alone – if I could give you a hug in real life I would, but you’ll just have to accept a virtual hug 🙂

 

photo credit: LiebeGaby via photopin cc

Leave a Reply

